Nature’s masterpiece

Nature’s great masterpiece, an elephant
(The only harmless great thing)…
Still sleeping stood; vex’d not his fantasy
Black dreams; like an unbent bow carelessly
His sinewy proboscis did remissly lie.
— John Donne

I have just found this quote on elephants, in a book that I have had since October 1983! I date my books :)
I love elephants, though I have not seen this quote before. In my defence the book, though thirty four years old, does contain perhaps that many thousand quotes. And it is only one of several books of quotes I have collected over the years.

Image: By Bernard DUPONT from FRANCE (African Elephant (Loxodonta africana) male) [CC BY-SA 2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

