Show me the country, where the bombs had to fall

Show me the country, where the bombs had to fall
Show me the ruins of the buildings, once so tall
And I’ll show you a young land
With so many reasons why
And there but for fortune go you and I, you and I.
— Phil Ochs (Written 1963)

The image is of Coventry Cathedral in England , bombed and burnt out in November 1940. It is now left as a memorial, and the old spire, which remains standing is the tallest structure in the city.  The new struture visible on the left hand side is the replacement cathedral consecrated in 1962 .

Image credit: Andrew Walker (walker44) [GFDL, CC-BY-SA-3.0 or CC BY-SA 2.5-2.0-1.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

