I have gathered a posie of other men’s flowers

“‘I have gathered a posie of other men’s flowers and nothing but the thread that binds them is my own.’
So wrote Montaigne; and I have borrowed his title, my memory being the binding thread.”
— Field-Marshal Lord Wavell (1883-1950), in his collection of poetry, (Other Men’s Flowers) published 1944

The first book of poems I bought, and with perhaps, an unlikely editor. I loved it, it had all my favorites, and has provides many, new ones. And so, it was with great delight that I recently came across a first edition for a couple of pounds.

Image of New York City’s Central Park Shakespeare Garden: By Ingfbruno (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

