Only dull people are brilliant at breakfast.

Only dull people are brilliant at breakfast.
— Oscar Wilde, An Ideal Husband, 1893

I once had a post card with this phrase on it. I pinned it up in my office, because I am not brilliant at breakfast, or at least not until I have had coffee. The card had been there for barely a day, when I coincidentally learned from my boss, that he felt  he “Did his best work first thing in the morning.”  The postcard lived in my drawer for many years!

By Alisdair McDiarmid from Glasgow, United Kingdom (Flickr) [CC BY 2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

