I myself have never been able to find out what feminism is

I myself have never been able to find out what feminism is;
I only know that people call me a feminist whenever I express sentiments that differentiate me from a doormat or a prostitute.
— Rebecca West, author, journalist, literary critic & travel writer.
In “Mr. Chesterton in hysterics,” The Clarion, (14 November 1913).


The image of a Persian rug is a little grand for a doormat, but I like nice images; and I really like this quote.

Image: By Ghyas el Din Jami – Weaver (Persian)Born in North-West Persia. Dead in North-West Persia.Details of artist on Google Art Project [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

