“I’m empty and aching and I don’t know why.”

“Kathy, I’m lost”, I said,
Though I knew she was sleeping.
“I’m empty and aching and
I don’t know why.”

Counting the cars
On the New Jersey Turnpike
They’ve all come
To look for America,
All come to look for America.
— Paul Simon, from the song America (1968)


By the time I went to the States I knew this song by heart. We’d even had a giant poster of Simon and Garfunkel in our music classroom at school. So there I am in a Greyhound on the Turnpike travelling from Washington DC to New York. I was to heartily dislike New York, though that is another story. Meanwhile, sixteen lanes, and so many cars: I did my best and counted to fifty cars before I lost count.

A great memory and still one of my favourite songs. A YouTube version is here.

Image: By Famartin (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

