Quid sit futurum…

Quid sit futurum cras fuge quaerere,
et Quem Fors dierum cumque dabit lucro Appone
—Horace (65-8 B.C.), Odes, I; ix. 13.

Drop any question of what tomorrow may bring,
and count as profit every day that fate allows you.


I was hit by a car, and a little lucky to live. Later I found this quote, it has been a favourite ever since. The translation comes from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, where I originally found the quote: it was long before the Internet.  It seems there are others around, but I learnt both versions by heart long ago and this translation is the one I will always use.

Leave a Reply

