Confucius on loving your job

Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.
— Confucius

The Daily Prompt from WordPress was:
Money for Nothing If you’re like most of us, you need to earn money by working for a living. Describe your ultimate job. If you’re in your dream job, tell us all about it — what is it that you love? What fulfills you? If you’re not in your dream job, describe for us what your ultimate job would be.
Image: By Kevinsmithnyc (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0], via Wikimedia Commons

5 Comments Add yours

  1. My husband Nicholas fits this wise quotation well. He is a Historian of the Middle Ages and a researcher. Sometimes he goes to the Vatican and finds original Papal letters and writes original history. He loves his job of course!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Noel G20 says:

      Now that does sound like a fascinating job. It stretches my understanding of the word, job. I am not sure I would see it as a job at all, definitely I could see someone truly loving; and them marvelling that they paid to do it :)

      Like

  2. Hui Ho says:

    I’m not sure what exactly an ultimate job would be like. On reddit, there’s a post in the taoism thread that says he worked to where he wanted to be in the film industry, climbing obstacles that got in the way, yet once there, there was no elusive happiness to be attained. I too have the same worries, but my basis is that desires change, and it is hard to stay constant in 10 years or 20 years. As Hume said, “reason is and ought only to be a slave to the passions.” Of course its reasonable to pursue this and that, but ultimately your desire is the determining factor, however fickle.

    Like

  3. Noel G20 says:

    I agree. For some the ultimate job comes with an idea of security and by implication longevity, a job for life. For others, quite the reverse. Certainly when I started working, the concept of a role for life, was common. Indeed, the fact that I had moved around job-wise a bit, was held against me: unreliable, not committed! I feel now that the opposite may be true. A wide range of experiences is often seen by employers as desirable. Perhaps we may need to re-write the quote as “Choose a succession of jobs you love…”

    I do love the Hume quote too, thank you. New post coming up :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

